Crazyhippiemom’s Weblog

Just an urban hippie with a kid in tow, sharing a little eco-friendly, holistic info with the world.

The Happier Life Chronicles – Appreciate Me! April 30, 2008

Filed under: Family,life,mothers,motivation,Office,Uncategorized,Women — crazyhippiemom @ 1:35 pm
Tags: , ,

Apparently this is the time of year when the Big Kahunas show appreciation to the Little Kahunas… in short, it’s Staff Appreciation week.  If your past experiences are anything like mine, you’ve come to expect the ever-so-un-impressive staff appreciation gift. You know the kind – anything with your company’s logo printed on it; $10 gift cards to, oh, say, Target (I mean really, what can a gal get at Target for $10), now a $10 Starbucks card might be cool, but still a little unimpressive.  Okay, maybe I’m asking too much, but dargone it, we get up every morning, don our sleekest business casual attire, arrive relatively on time, and work our gludius maximuses into gludius minimuses to get, yes, a $10 Target gift card, once a friggin year.  As my boss put it (and boy am I hoping he’s not reading this), in this economy, you should be happy to just get a paycheck.  Ouch!  He was right (now I really hope he’s not reading this, because admitting that he’s right opens up a whole new can of worms).  In this economy, looking for a gift that is even remotely in the triple digits, from your place of employment, from your spouse, from your kids, from anybody, is just a little much to ask.  Anyhoo, back to the appreciation thing… I was literally blown away at the lengths my company went to in order to show their staff that we were appreciated.  I mean really!  We had a lunch time movie, we received these awesome umbrellas (for when the rain comes), they even fed us (and me especially with my V/V self) each day of the week!  OMG!

All of this appreciation got me to thinking.  From my statements above, it’s clear that I expect some level of appreciation from the people and entities in my life and I risk to bet you do to.  When I considered what it is that I regard as appreciation from others, it was inevitable that I pondered my own ways of showing myself appreciation.  Do I go out and purchase a diamond trinket for myself?  Do I say “Thank you, me, for picking up those clothes on the floor”?  Do I take myself out for dinner on special occasions?  No. No. And No. Through these answers, it became evident that I don’t appreciate myself nearly as much as I should.  Do you?

As is my custom, I don’t bring up problems unless I have suggestions to fix such problems.  Here on this very page I have assembled a list of, Oh-So-Awesome ways of showing thyself the appreciation thou deserveth!  Pick one, pick them all and if you don’t find anything that suits you, think of something else and send it to me.

Ways to Appreciate Yourself

  • Comparisons are for weenies – As hot as you are, as intelligent as you are, and as funny as you friggin are, there is absolutely NO need to compare yourself to anyone in this galaxy!  Comparing yourself to others only activates insecurities within.  If you do it, stop.  If you don’t do it, don’t start.
  • Don’t fear failure – Part of appreciating yourself is trying things you are interested in.  Yes, you run the risk of failing, but you also run an even bigger risk of succeeding.  Imagine what a boost it would be for you to succeed at something you’ve never tried.  
  • Me Time – If you haven’t checked out my post on Adult Time Joys, you should do that right after you’re done here.  You’ve got to get out there and spend some time with others, enjoying yourself!  There is no better way to appreciate you, than to allow you to enjoy yourself.
  • Get a mantra going – I love these.  You can make up something like, “I appreciate me for being a great mom, for being a great cook, for being a gold-medal wife, and for being a great employee.” Just find something that speaks to the things you want to appreciate yourself for and say it, as often as you want to.
  • Check yourself out, NAKED – Oh yeah! Go ahead baby, check out that badunkadunk! Look at those curves and those legs, go ahead.  It’s all you!  Focus on the parts of your body you hate the most and find something positive to say about them.  Like for instance, that stubborn baby belly fat that still exists 12 years later, just remember how beautifully you carried your son/daughter (even if it was 12 years ago), and what a gift it was to incubate such a joy in your stomach for those months.  This little exercise should be so much fun.
  • Appreciate others – Think about the people in your life who you wish would appreciate you more (spouse, kids, parents, boss, co-workers, friends), and appreciate them.  Don’t just say nice things every now and again, but go out of your way to show them (in ways they understand) that you appreciate them.  You’ll see how soon the actions are reciprocated.  It’s karma, what goes out comes right back around.

So this is my list for how to appreciate oneself.  If you find there are more ways, please, by all means, send me a comment and tell us all about it.

 

 

One Response to “The Happier Life Chronicles – Appreciate Me!”

  1. alex Says:

    Hey! Thanks for all the great info. I was browsing through a bunch of green websites and blogs and I came across yours and found it very interesting. There are a bunch of others I like too, like the daily green, ecorazzi and earthlab.com. I especially like EarthLab.com’s carbon calculator (http://www.earthlab.com/signupprofile/). I find it really easy to use (it doesn’t make me feel guilty after I take it). Are there any others you would recommend? Can you drop me a link to your favorites (let me know if they are the same as mine).


Leave a Reply

