Crazyhippiemom’s Weblog

Just an urban hippie with a kid in tow, sharing a little eco-friendly, holistic info with the world.

The Preschool Chronicles – Month One September 25, 2008

It has been almost a month since my 2 year old has been installed in preschool.  I use the word ‘installed’ quite on purpose, due to the fact that he was probably not very pleased about being left there…in fact, I’m sure he wasn’t.  The tears of shear dismay and pleading, rather begging, “MOMMY, MOMMY!!! NO!!! NO!!!! MOMMY!!” still replay quite vividly in my mind.  Well, I won’t relive the awful scene as I placed his diaper bag (no he’s not yet potty trained) and his carseat in the respective designated areas.  I’d rather focus on the last three weeks as a whole.  For those of you currently awash in the abyss of your toddler’s first preschool experience, read on and know that you’re not alone.  For those who have already mastered the preschool years, please provide some sort of insight; a survival guide or something to help us novices out!

The Germ-Fest

My vegan son is the epitome of health.  No fillers, no additives, no Big Pharma candy…no, no, no.  Nothing that had a mother, nothing made in a factory, you get the point.  The little man hasn’t had a cold in well, I’d say forever, but he’s only 2 and that would be a little unbelieveable…it has been at least 6 months though. So you could imagine my surprise when on the second day of preschool, he arrived home with the sniffles.  Now everyone I spoke to about this momentous event said exactly the same thing, “Oh yeah, when they’re in preschool, their noses never stop running!”  Why is this something we are unable to fix?  Why must their noses continually run?  Why are they passing germs around like…the plague!  Okay, I overstate.  But honestly, why is the everyday, run of the mill preschool a germ-fest?  I’m venting, bare with me.

My son’s a genius, why don’t they realize that?

I know every parent says this about their child, but mine really is a genius.  Okay, whatever.  I spent an enormous amount of time branding the ABC’s and 123’s into my sons head so he could start preschool to sit down and watch Sesame Street all day? I don’t think so!!!!  Alright, alright, maybe not all day, but really, shouldn’t they be cultivating each child’s potential with sensory learning tools and all that other jazz? 

He eats like an anorexic super-model

Is it just me or is my son refusing his favorite meal…that would be white rice.  Actually, he’s refusing everything I put in front of him.  It seems almost impossible that he can maintain his energy levels with just the morsel of food he’s been eating. 

Much more clingy than usual

This one I can kind of figure.  He may be having some abandonment issues.  Therefore when he sees his parents, he holds onto us with all his might.  I’ve been reassured that this will pass as he becomes more acclaimated to his surroundings.

Alright, so these are the changes I’ve noticed over the past three weeks.  As is my custom, I’ve done a little research to try to understand the ins and outs of the whole preschool thing.  Here’s a list from the experts to help ease my (and your) concerns.

What parents can do to ease the transition:

  • Talk to the preschool teacher about your concerns
  • Stay for a class
  • Practice appropriate preschool behavior while at home
  • Reevaluate maturity level and preschool readiness

This is definitely a process for all of us and I’m still researching it myself.  What are your thoughts?  What has worked for you?  Enlighten us.

 

Leave a Reply

